OCTORARA AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

Minutes of Reorganization Meeting December 5, 2022

The Reorganization Meeting of the Octorara Area School Board was held in the Octorara Jr./Sr. High School Multi-Purpose Room on December 5, 2022.

A moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag preceded the meeting.

Dr. Orner, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 7:00. Ms. Bowman, Mr. Falgiatore, Mr. Fox, Mr. Ganow, Mr. Hurley, Mr. Koennecker, Mr. Norris, Ms. Yelovich and Mr. Zimmerman were present. Also present were Mrs. Hardy, secretary; Dr. Orner, Superintendent; Mr. Curtis, Business Manager, members of the administrative team, and no citizens.

Ms. Bowman was nominated as temporary president on motion of Mr. Koennecker, second by Mr. Ganow.

Nominations were closed on motion of Mr. Ganow, second by Mr. Fox

Ms. Bowman was elected temporary president without objection.

Ms. Bowman read the list of Board Members and Regions into the minutes as follows: Hold-Over Board Members:

Director	Region	Term Exp.
Brian Norris	Region 1	2023
Lisa Yelovich	Region 1	2023
Anthony Falgiatore	Region 1	2023
Lisa Bowman	Region 2	2023
Samuel Ganow	Region 2	2025
Jere Zimmerman	Region 2	2025
Brian Fox	Region 3	2023
R. Matthew Hurley	Region 3	2025
Charles Koennecker, Jr	Region 3	2025

Region 1: Atglen Borough

Borough of Christiana (Lancaster County)

Parkesburg (North) West Sadsbury Township

Region 2: Sadsbury Township (Lancaster County)

West Fallowfield Township

Region 3: Highland Township

Londonderry Township Parkesburg (South)

Mr. Ganow was nominated as president of the Board of School Directors on motion of Mr. Fox, second by Mr. Norris.

Nominations were closed on motion of Mr. Fox, second by Mr. Koennecker.

Mr. Ganow was elected president by all members present except Mr. Falgiatore who abstained.

Mr. Fox was nominated as vice-president of the Board of School Directors on motion of Mr. Hurley, second by Mr. Zimmerman.

Nominations were closed on motion of Ms. Bowman, second by Mr. Hurley. Mr. Fox was elected vice -president of the Octorara Board of School Directors without objection.

Mr. Ganow made the following committee appointments for the calendar year 2023:

Representative to the Lancaster County Tax Collection Bureau for the Calendar Year 2023 (Jeff Curtis)

Alternative Representative to the Lancaster County Tax Collection Bureau for the Calendar Year 2023 (Matt Furlong)

Representative to the Chester County Tax Collection Bureau for the Calendar Year 2023 (Jeff Curtis)

Alternative Representative to the Chester County Tax Collection Bureau for the Calendar Year 2023 (Matt Furlong)

Legislative Committee Representative for the Calendar Year 2023 (Brian Fox)

I.U./C.A.T. Board Representative (Brian Norris - Term Expires 2023)

Personnel Committee (Sam Ganow-chair, Brian Norris, Lisa Bowman, Lisa Yelovich)

Facilities Committee (Brian Norris-chair, Charlie Koennecker, Jere Zimmerman)

Policy Committee (Lisa Bowman-chair, Brian Fox, Matt Hurley, Lisa Yelovich)

Finance Committee (Matt Hurley-chair, Sam Ganow, Brian Norris)

Representative to the Chester County School Authority (Term Expires 2026 - Brian Norris)

Education Committee (Brian Fox-chair, Lisa Yelovich, Charlie Koennecker, Jere Zimmerman)

Mr. Ganow read the following resolution regarding meeting times:

That in conformance with Act 175 (1974) PA Legislature, the Octorara Area Board of School Directors will meet in Regular Session in the Jr./Sr. High School on the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. and that the Board Work Sessions, open to the public, will normally be held the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Jr./Sr. High School (there is no Work Session scheduled for July). Executive Sessions will be scheduled before and/or following each Regular and Work Session Meeting. The annual Reorganization Meeting will be held on December 4, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. followed by the December Work Session. The December 2023 Regular Monthly Public Board Meeting will be held on December 11, 2023 at 7:00 p.m.

There being no further items of business, the meeting adjourned at 7:08 p.m. on motion of Ms. Bowman, second by Mr. Hurley and approval of all members present.

Respectfully submitted,

Jill L. Hardy, Secretary Octorara Board of School Directors